Daily Update (Kind of) – 1/24 Piglets Arive


January 24th, 2017 at 10 am

On Monday, the 23rd and due date, I watched as Mabel carried mouth fulls of hay all day long. She worked, walking back and forth about 40′ from an old bale to her hut. Demonstrating the classic signs of nesting.

She was still carrying after dark and didn’t care who got in her way, including her hut mate. She buried him under her newly formed waist high pack!

Mabel’s nest pack, including the boar and anything else she could grab


This morning at 6:30 am, she had a nice spot built and was hanging out, showing with strong contractions. As the ice, water and snow from the nor’easter overnight created all kinds of issues for everyone else, she labored to give birth to 11 piglets.

All were dry and warm by the time I got to meet them at 10 am! ​

​​​

This is basically my first sights I got to see of them. Oh, how I loved seeing those little wiggles!

At the end of the day, Mabel the momma sow had them all tucked in for the night. Hopefully, my day will be much calmer tomorrow so I can go sit with them for a little while.

If you’d like to see the live feed videos, please follow Barrows Farm (just click the colored text). I’ll be posting several over the first few days and weeks to show how they are progressing and to ask any questions that may come up.

For now, I need some sleep after a long day of battling through no electricity, new upgrades to internet service and some serious thought processing on a variety of topics. My nice warm bed and my snuggle hound are calling my name.

The second you are handed a newborn it is yours. It doesn’t matter what body it came out of. I’ve never felt more strongly about anything in my life. ~Edie Falco

Leave a Reply

