Too Much Activity 


There’s been so much going on that I’m not even really sure where to begin…

These newest piglets are giving me fits. True escape artists, they are often found out to pasture with the cattle or hanging out on the bedding pack for the cows racing between animals 100 times their size!


They look so tiny out there and it’s sincerely something that sets my anxiety off. I’m so worried that they will get stepped on or crushed. I’ve fixed fence, done repair after repair and STILL they get out. They will get zapped every time they go running through but they just don’t seem to care. 

They are little patience testers that’s for sure!

Once I get them back for feeding, they could care less. They spend more time nursing on mom and don’t even care that she’s not laying down!!

They look so sweet and innocent in photos. They are far from it!

My favorite time of day is nap time around here. You can’t beat the bliss and quiet of a pig pile.


I also relocated the boar today… I’m going to get photos tomorrow of him with his new pals. This will be his last breeding here on the farm, then he will find a new home. I hate to see him go because he is so gentle and so sweet but I can’t use him to breed his own daughters.

I’ve decided to keep two of the gilts from Petunia’s batch. They have done extremely well in growth and development, are super docile and friendly as can be. 

I’ve been working on my plans for dehorning, castrations and shots for the cattle. It’s going to be a big undertaking and a lot of work but it needs to be done. I haven’t made any headway on my list at all either, which really sucks.

I’ve been sidetracked with work duties and I’m frustrated beyond imagination at how much time it’s taking to complete this task. I already have plans on Friday so I’m down to tomorrow and Thursday to get a long list of stuff completed.

There are many items needed and some work to get done. I’m currently waiting the arrival of my order I placed last week that was scheduled for delivery today and didn’t come.

I still need to get a few things from the vet and the supply store, get out the tools and equipment I already have and get fencing installed. I figure it’s going to take two days to do all 37 head currently here.

I’ll fill in details about what the items are, why they are used and what the process is within future posts.

Right now… I’m off to bed, overworked and underpaid with a splitting stress headache and an upset stomach for the second night in a row.

Leave a Reply

