The Best Farm Dog


I have to share this story. It’s a must. It’s an important part of who I’ve become and how it happened.

You’ve read in previous posts how the farm came about but there was a missing piece within that story. It’s the story of a rescued bloodhound, named Rosie, who was my constant companion and best farm dog.

Rosie came to me just before the whole deep depression. I got a phone call from a dog shelter not far from me. The gentleman who ran it says, “I’ve got you on a list as someone that would home a hound in need.” We talked for a few minutes and he goes on to say, “I know it’s been your dream to have a bloodhound. There’s one here but she won’t be easy. If you want to come meet her, we will have to see how it goes first.”

He went on to explain that she had been severely abused and was terrified of most people. She’d been with them for awhile and was still having issues putting on weight. He said that I should expect much the first visit.

I was so excited at the potential of having a bloodhound. I would have given anything.

I pulled in the driveway, got out of my car and out walks Paul. He again says not to expect much because she’s so scared of everything. Paul’s daughter comes out of the kennel door, attached to their house with this skinny, dropping skinned bloodhound.

As she approached, she kept eyeballing me between sniffs of the ground. She slowly keeps walking closer and closer. Once she was close enough, determined that I smelled okay, she gently walks up the front of my body and curled her head into my neck.

That’s it. I was instantly a goner. Tears built in my eyes, as they are right now and I knew this dog as meant to be with me. One small move and we bonded… hard and fast!


She was about 65 lbs at the time. I took her immediately to the vet for a once over and to get his recommendations. We put her on a massively high protein specialty food to help her gain some weight.

She was so scared of people, there were times that she would actually pee from fear. It took 3 months for her to warm up to others, including her other housemates.

She gained weight over that first year and by the next spring, she was running all over the farm and my constant companion. Now weighing 125 lbs, her hugs were now work outs too.

We took all kinds of rides all over the place. We went for runs in the field and even tried fishing together.


She blossomed over the years. Changing and becoming just as much a part of the farm as I was. 


As the years went by, she was a staple in my bed and in my heart and life.


From 2006 to 2015, she was never far from my side. We raised chickens together, including dealing with her depression when they disappeared from the house and her overwhelming enthusiasm when she found them in their new barn.

We had something very special. A bond that still hurts due to her passing today. I miss her hugs, her love of all things farm and just her as my travel companion.

In her last days, we got another bloodhound. A young pup that looks so much like her and has demonstrated what Rosie would have been like if she’d never known abuse or neglect. She’s not Rosie and doesn’t care for the farm but…

I see her pass on some of Rosie’s habits, like my special hugs and my ever close companion and bedtime buddy. She’s now settling in and will hopefully pick up some of Rosie’s love of all animals as she does.


There are a few more photos, photos of just how regal and special she was. 



The moral of this whole thing…

  • No matter how bad life may be in any given moment, new bonds will form in ways you never thought possible 
  • Just because you’re a hound doesn’t mean you can’t define what work you chose to do 
  • Love has many forms and possibilities 

If I could wish one thing for every person on earth, it’s for them to find the kind of pet bond I had with Rosie. 

🐾Do not stand at my grave and weep; I am not there. I do not sleep. I am a thousand winds that blow. I am the diamond glints on snow. I am the sunlight on ripened grain. I am the gentle autumn rain. 

When you awake in the morning’s hush I am the swift uplifting rush of quiet birds in circled flight. I am the soft stars that shine at night. 

Do not stand at my grave and cry. I am not there. I did not die.🐾

Leave a Reply

